You are here

Applications open for prestigious Premier’s Science Awards 2020 - closes May 27

The McGowan Government is calling for the nominations of Western Australian STEM superstars for the 2020 Premier's Science Awards. 


The awards celebrate the achievements of WA's leaders and high achieving up-and-comers in STEM.


Award categories include: Scientist of the Year, Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year, ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year, Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year and Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year.


Winners will be announced at a ceremony during National Science Week in August, with the Scientist of the Year taking away $50,000 and other category winners each receiving $10,000.


Nominations are also open to induct a prominent Western Australian scientist into the WA Science Hall of Fame, which will also be announced at the August awards ceremony.


Professor Phil Bland of Curtin University and Professor Robert Newton of Edith Cowan University were joint winners of the 2019 Scientist of the Year Award for advancing understanding of the solar system and improving the quality of life for cancer survivors respectively.


The awards are sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell and Woodside and supported by the State's five universities.


Applications close on May 27, 2020. For information, visit

Western Australia

Thu 07 May 2020 To Wed 27 May 2020

10:45am To 10:45am